October 31, 2008
-
Next Tuesday....
Xanga peeps, I wrote a long political post that was about half done, but I've decided to keep it private. I started writing it not sure if I was going to leave it public, private, or protected and I've decided that it will just stay private. Some of it has to do with me writing in the middle of the night in a fury of typing and sleep deprivation while some of it I wanted to finish it, but I've lost the raw emotion that I was fueled on while I wrote. I guess that my little manifesto will just stay mine....
Ultimately, I don't think it's much of a surprise who I will be voting for on election day. As much as I want to like the young, dynamic, and charismatic Obama....something doesn't vibe right.
I have decided to cast my vote based on three different things...
Many people have called this the most important election of our lifetime. I really can't argue with that one...because I feel that one party control of the executive and both houses of Congress will not be good. Gone will be compromise and at least two years of unchecked policy will be upon us. That is not good for any party. Our little two party system hinges on having compromise.
Continuing my cliff notes....
Obama's voting record on the Second Amendment is scary for anyone that believes in the right to keep and bear arms. I won't go into specifics here on what his record is...but no matter what he says during this election it doesn't change the ideologies that he has voted for in the past. If you've read anything on here over time you know where I stand with this one.
Finally, I'm grouping taxes and the redistribution of wealth into one big steaming pile of economic crap. With Obama I'm given the guarantee that my taxes will not go up if I make less than $250,000 a year. Yet, if he repeals the Bush tax cuts, my taxes will increase. My wife and I pay an absurdly high amount of taxes a year and if you dip into my pocket book anymore, I'm going to be upset. If you take more of my money and then increase welfare programs then I'm really going to be upset. Welfare has a place, but it's a mismanaged and abused system that has gotten better since the mid-90s but it still has a long way to go.
I don't even want to get into the whole ACORN mess, voter fraud, and that kind of thing.
That's it, my huge post that you will never see in a couple paragraphs.
I'm a real honset to God Political Scientist (I even have the fancy diploma to prove it) and I approve of this post.
Comments (8)
While I have differring views and the second amendment doesn't mean anything to me, I have a lot of respect for your decision and how you came to it. I wish everyone voted on FACT and not stupid rumors or fear tactics. I've written a few posts and included some emails that have been sent to me and I'm so frustrated! It is nice to hear someone voting for McCain who has legitimate reasons for it and who can explain it properly. Thanks for the breath of fresh air!
I absolutely respect your choice and commend you for being so well informed. It's the people who don't know the issues and don't care about where each candidate stands that really gets to me. You're voting based on an educated knowledge of the politics and how they directly effect you. Kudo's and thank you for being well informed. (Even if we feel differently on the topics, each aspect of the issues effects each of us differently, so I do understand your stance.)
I not only respect your decision, I agree with it and am following the same plan. Obama is Ok but he is definitely not the man I want in office because of how he has voted in the past. I wish you would have kept your post public it would have been interesting to read but I totally understand why you didn't.
I think of all the political posts I've read on here, yours would be one I'd be most interested in reading. You actually make sense and I don't mean just the end point... I mean the way you got there. You actually thought about it and it's refreshing!
@ChangedbcOfHim - Those e-mails are such bs. It's one thing to state issues it's another thing to makeup facts about either candidate.
Well, I respect your choice and the thought you put into it. I'm a rather staunch Obama supporter, and I think that Sarah Palin is a *very* scary person, but hey--we all have our reasons for voting as we do. I entirely respect the thought you put into your decision and the issues that inform your decision.
@stephkarto - That's exactly why I love this country. The fact that debate is encouraged and not chastised.
Bravo, citizen soldier. I myself am going to do as I've always done since I've been able to, and go to the polls and vote my conscience. Obama does scare me, and allowing the Bush tax cuts to expire is going to affect everyone ... except for those who don't pay taxes (and I know one or two of them). They say that Sarah Palin is scary, but if you dig a bit, you can find some of the gaffes that Joe Biden has said lately (which our liberal media refuses to cover), he seems inept as all hell.
You give good points, sir. And you discuss politics with intelligence and seem informed. I just wish more people would dig and inform themselves instead of voting based on what the news and political ads tell you to do. I could tell you stories about someone that I know who is a political idiot, but spouts his rhetoric likes it's the gospel. I tried to inform him at one time how government, economy, and capitalism works, but that was like banging my head against a brick wall. And now he wonders why I refuse to discuss politics with him.
Comments are closed.