July 23, 2006

  • Hopefully everyone had a good Saturday.  Mine was pretty boring, but that was ok today.  I have a cold or something and felt like crap.  I spent much of the day just laying around, which is good because I feel considerably better right now than I did for most of the afternoon.

    Today I was hit by one heck of a thunderstorm.  It was probably one of the most powerful non-tornado storms I have ever seen.  It knocked trees and large branches down all over post.  Not just little trees either but big ones.  The electricity got knocked out of where I'm staying.  I gave it 15 minutes or so to come back on and I gave up and went to see a movie.  I saw 'Lady in the Water'.  It wasn't too bad, but it certainly wasn't all that great.  Usually M. Night Shyamalan movies are a little more twisted or strange, this one was a little more straight forward than his other one's.  It seemed to feel like a made for TV movie, it probably was about a 3/5 stars. 

    Nothing else worthwhile today, just kind of blah.  I hate wasting a weekend, but it does signify  the passing of another week, and another week closer to being home.  I'm really excited now that I am under 4 weeks! 

    It's really amazing how bad TV is during the summer.  Usually during the summer some network tests some show and it catches on during the summer, but this summer it seems like nothing has caught on.  Big Brother is on, and Amanda and I usually watch that, but I haven't.  I think that Amanda has watched a couple episodes.  She said that the episodes are available to watch online, but the Internet here just sucks too bad to even try to watch any type of streaming video.  I can't wait to get home and get some decent Internet again, because it is terrible here. 

    I read this article today about how some homeless guy found $21,000 in savings bonds in the trash.  He turned them in and the owner gave him a big whopping $100.  Can you even believe that?  They were in the trash, which meant that they were only one emptied dumpster away from being gone forever.  It's just kind of irritating to see people be so ungrateful for the kind dead that someone that was so much more unfortunate.  I'm not saying that they should have given him a huge percentage, but a grand or so seems fitting. 

    Ok, it's pretty late and I should try to go to bed.

Comments (1)

  • I agree with you about the homeless man. this guy threw away $21,000 if it wasn't all that important to him that he didn't even know he was throwing it away...why couldn't he spare a thousand to the man that dug it out of the trash for him?

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories