July 23, 2006

  • It's pretty late, so this will be a nice short update.  Today was a nice lazy day, kind of like yesterday except I didn't take a nap today and just slept in until oh, let's say 10:45.  Yeah, that late, but then again I didn't go to sleep until 3:30am or so.  I couldn't get to sleep which is pretty unusual, in fact, I don't remember what I did until that time.  I think that I just flipped though channels and watched a bunch of nothing like infomercials and the pilot episode for 'The Brady Bunch'.  Have any of you seen the sonic knife yet?  It's a new rechargeable electrical knife that "Sonically Separates Food"  yep, sonically separates it.  The infomercial was addictive because it had that late 1980's infomercial feel with the cheesy hosts and the paid rent-a-audience. 

    So here is my summary of today:  Played games, read, shopped a little bit, played games, followed T to return a rental car, ate with T, worked on Amanda's computer, did some work at my normal civilian job, and went to bed.  Nothing too exciting but it was ok.  I bought Amanda a new USB flash drive today.  I have been feeling bad because I gave her a hand me down one that I replaced.  She should like the new one a little more.  I also picked up for her a new fiber optic pen that is like those little fiber optic lamps but it's a pen. 

    Last night I picked up a used Xbox 360 game called Condemned Criminal Origins and I've been playing it a little last night and today.  It's a pretty good game and definitely fit the bill of what I was looking for.  It has an deliberate movie like feel and really involves you in the game.  It definitely isn't that hard or that challenging and it will have very little replay value, but it has been hella fun!  It's kind of creepy in some spots and made the hair stand up on the back of my neck a couple time, and I figure any game that can manage that must be good.  Speaking of games, I can't wait to get home and start playing on a HDTV and actually appreciate graphics compared to what I have here.

    One thing that I have been struggling with is how I am going to get everything home when I'm done here.  I have picked up some stuff since I've been here.  I've debated about renting a UHaul (way too expensive), putting a hitch on my car and towing a trailer (too much of a pain), and shipping stuff back.  It looks like the shipping stuff back is about my only feasible option.  I think that I will have to pick up two plastic footlocker type things.  They sell for $30 or so at the PX.  They measure about 32"x18"x13", I priced shipping them through a couple of different companies and it looks like it will be roughly $20-25 each box to send home via ground service.  That really isn't too bad, and if I can send two of those home for $100 that will be ok, since I end up with two storage containers.  I might be able to manage only sending one home, but if I can send two it makes it that much easier to pack and load my car when I'm leaving here. 

    I'm trying to think if I would be able to fit all my stuff in my car without even worrying about going to such extremes.  My car wasn't **that** full on the way down, and I'm sure that I'd be able to hold more, but is it worth the chance of not having enough room?  What I don't want to have happen is have my car fully loaded and then find out that I can't fit everything.  Then I have to go and think of what I want to load into the shipping containers and send back north.  Ok, we'll have to let that go for now, because it's nearly midnight and I need to head to bed. 

    Take it easy.

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories